top of page
bklg01

Fonts and Colour Pallets

Fonts

Hello again! Since writing my previous blog article, I've been considering the content I want for my magazine. I analyzed and researched popular magazines whose ideas I wanted to adopt for my own spread. And right now, I'm studying typography and color scheming. This post provides a detailed description of the fonts and colors I'll utilize in my magazine. The fonts that are currently planned to appear on the cover of my magazine are displayed below.


Disclaimer: All fonts used in the image below were found on the website DaFont.com



Masthead (Soulmaze)

For my magazine's masthead, I plan on using bold fonts. For instance, the font "Soulmaze".

The reasoning for my choice of font for the masthead is that it will be highlighted most by the capitalized letters, which provide a subtle intriguing theme. This type of typography is also very seamless to use because of its simplicity yet powerful accent it gives off.

Not only this, but it would look good in any colour. Whether that be bold, dark, or light colors.

Headline (Jumper)

On the other hand, because Jumper has such a crisp appearance, I chose it for the headline (as it is a sans serif font). Additionally, its italicized, bold, imaging is perfect as it is different enough from the masthead but similar enough to look cohesive on the cover of my magazine.

Cover Line (Apollo)

On the other hand, I picked the font Apollo for the coverline because it has a really classy appearance. Its timeless design is also ideal because it doesn't detract from the masthead or headlines. and it goes well with my byline and selling line.

Selling Line, Byline, and Miscellaneous (Amefaryas)

I decided on the font Amefaryas for the selling line. As opposed to the masthead, which has a stronger, more striking appearance, this typeface has a very traditional and elegant appearance. as well as showcasing a more classic look which I want for my magazine.


Contrast Between Fonts

The fonts I'll be using in my magazine serve as an example of contrast, which is a method for using two highly contrasting fonts that yet work well together. Typically, it has both serif and sans serif lettering, but it can also have a elegant and more plain looking font. Which is why for more attention grabbing icons, for instance, my headline and masthead, I chose fonts like Jumper and Soulmaze. Whereas for complimentary fonts I chose elegant ones like Apollo and Amefaryas.


Colour Pallets

A look into the colours I hope to use and execute on my magazine cover!


Colour Scheme:

I want to utilize about 4-6 different colours for the palette. For my magazine, one of the primary images I am hoping to achieve for the magazine cover is one with a lot of greenery and nature. I intend to integrate subtle greens with brighter hues like orange, yellow, and blue in my palette.

I want to utilize a bold color for the masthead, a text color that will be darker, and some less aggressive colors for the rest of the fonts.

A magazine I've been drawing inspiration from is Runners Magazine, which I am hoping to emulate as I will also be making a magazine focused on sports running. I have an image of it to the left for reference.


Think of a cover like this but instead of utilizing a bold salmon for the background, it would have dark greenery and forestry to draw attention away from the background





Audience and Readers

My audience and the affect of font and color usage:

Because they are very adaptable and give off a different feeling than the majority of serif fonts, the modern feel of the main fonts and the graceful feel of the sub fonts that I chose offer a style that is more appealing to any audience. This is ideal for my audience since it demonstrates the fun yet sophisticated tone I want to set for my magazine, which I intend to target at all ages.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page