top of page
bklg01

Photography for my Magazine

How it went

For my photography session, I do admit that i struggled a bit. Just this year, when i really began studying magazines and photography, is when I learned terms like "leading lines" or "the rule of thirds". So, I am most definitely a novice in the field of photography.

Despite this though, I decided to focus my photos on students, and my coaches for my running magazine, as it makes the most sense since it is an education and exercise-based magazine to take an inside look into the cross-country team at my school.


For my shoot I utilized an iPhone camera (in retrospect, this may have lowered the quality of images I had for my final project, but in all due respect I do not own a professional camera) since I am already familiarized with the software of an iPhone camera app.


I instructed my models to wear sporty or school-color clothing for the photo session (which are blue, grey, and white). Wearing school colors would help to reinforce the idea that my magazine is focused on school sports, and athletic clothing would demonstrate the athleticism of my publication.

One of my models, Griffin, who is the captain of the cross-country team, wore athletic clothing that perfectly demonstrate my magazine's theme.

My other model, Jaeci, also wore school colors and athletic wear.

The coach of the cross-country teams likewise donned school colors as my other model.


The photos

I chose these photos because they perfectly fit the theme and color scheme of my magazine.


Composition and design

For the composition of my magazine, i want to use the photo shown above to use for the main image of my cover. I feel that with the colors that pop up in the image, i can draw from those them colors to use for my masthead and other design elements that will pop up on my cover.

My subject in this photo is centered in the middle of the photo, and there are curved leading lines that draw attention to the model (the runner) in the middle.




The image above this text will be used for the main and center image of my table of contents, as i believe it is interesting yet doesn't take away from the text i will have on the page. It also is easy to crop to edit the size based on how much of the page the text takes up.

For the composition of this photo i used the rule of thirds, and leading lines. For the leading lines the lines on the track field follow the runner.


As for the following three images, I will use them for my double page spread. I want my double page spread to showcase unique photos (how boring would it be if every photo was similar?!), that are cohesive enough to not be drastically contrasting, and take away from the main point of my article and the design of my pages.

For the following images i also used a lot of leading lines and the rule of thirds. For my shoot, the leading lines were already predisposed with the lines that are shown on the track. So it was not only helpful for my photo taking but also adds some extra background design.
















Analysis

The session went smoothly overall. But I will undoubtedly need to take additional pictures. I'd also like to acquire some establishing images of a beginner runner, someone who wants to start running but hasn't yet done so, for my spread. I need a picture of my interviewee since I plan to write a little article about a novice runner.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page