top of page
bklg01

Reflection and Design of Table of Contents

To prepare myself to do the actual design of my Table of Contents, I spent time researching and gaining inspiration for my own magazine. Below is a brief discussion of what I've found.

 

Colors/Fonts

For the color scheme of my magazine itself and in extension, my table of contents, I want to have a more playful and nature like theme as I have discussed. I am hoping to incorporate a lot of greens and blue, with some hints of bright color. I intend to keep the colors consistent throughout my whole magazine, with at least one of my main colors showing up in each page. In the same way I will be incorporating color consistently throughout my magazine, I will be doing so with fonts. I want to have a mixture of Sans Serif font for the headlines and masthead, and for the subheadings I'm leaning towards a Serif font, to add some diversity and classiness to my magazine.


Design Elements

I haven't come up with any design elements yet, but recently when studying a magazine I noticed how on the magazine cover, there was a symbol that also came up in the table of contents and other spreads. I'm still considering it, but I think I would like to include a trademark like that gives my magazine a unique design element that stays consistent throughout the entirety of the magazine. I think that if I include that, it will make my readers more familiar with my magazine and it will give my magazine more personality.


Headlines

I want to have headlines that both showcase the educational aspect and the editorial aspect of my spreads. I'd like to have some fluff pieces in my magazine that are mainly research based. For example; "best foods for runners to eat before a meet", or "best stretches to do after your 5k". But I'd also like to include some pieces where I interview running coaches, juvenile runners from my school's cross country team, and more. I want the headlines to reflect this. I want my main article to be about the runners at my school, so for that headline I want to make it stand out more, and maybe include a design element that helps it do so. But for the other headlines, I want them to stay consistent in their design to not take away from the more emphasized headline of my main article.


Images

I most definitely want to showcase images in my table of contents. I haven't decided on a set number of images, whether I will use just one main image or use multiple images, but I know I want to have one. I think that by having a lot of images it makes my magazine more creative, which is the type of vibe I want to give off in my magazine, even though I intend to have my magazine be sports centric which usually has a more serious vibe from the other magazines I have researched. For my image, I want to showcase an athlete, and have it directly connect to one of the headlines in my table of contents.


For the main image below in the rough draft of my table of contents, I actually drew that digitally myself to envision myself what I want my main image to look like.


My rough draft

Below I included all the fonts I also featured on the rough draft of my magazine cover, and my original drawing as the cover image.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page